Focus On U.K. & Ireland will take place from Tuesday, April 20 to Wednesday, April 21, 2021. This two-day virtual event on Brand USA Global Marketplace will provide U.S. partners with relevant insights on the travel landscape as well as share updates on the U.S. tourism industry with the U.K. & Irish travel trade community.

null
Brand USA invites U.S. partners who exhibit on the Brand USA Global Marketplace, and members of the U.K. and Irish travel trade community to attend Focus On U.K. & Ireland. During the first day of the event (April 20) U.K. and Irish travel experts will share updates on the U.K. and Irish travel landscape and economy as well as consumer trends to help U.S. partners make informed decisions as they plan for recovery. The following day (April 21), U.K. and Irish tour operators and travel agents are invited to USA Training Day, an interactive training session. USA Training Day will focus on how to tap into valuable resources on the custom-built Brand USA Global Marketplace platform. In addition, there will be the opportunity to connect directly with many of the U.S. destination and attraction partners on what is new and exciting in the U.S. as we look to recovery of international inbound travel from the U.K. and Ireland to the USA.

Registration* for both days must be completed by April 16 at 12:00 AM EDT.
*Existing users do not need to re-register for the platform. Existing users who register for this event will opt-in for all communications related to Focus On U.K. & Ireland.

Tuesday, April 20

null

11:00 AM EDT / 4:00 PM BST
Brand USA welcome
Chris Thompson, President & CEO, Brand USA


11:05 AM EDT / 4:05 PM BST
U.K. & Ireland Economic Outlook
David Goodger, Managing Director, Europe & Middle East at Tourism Economics


11:15 AM EDT / 4:15 PM BST
How are the Media Preparing for the Return of U.S. Travel?
Moderator: Dominic Carter, Group Chief Commercial Officer, News UK
Maria Pieri, Editorial Director, National Geographic
Nicola Brady, Freelance Journalist, Irish Independent
Katie McGonagle, Features & Supplements Editor, Travel Weekly


11:40 AM EDT / 4:40 PM BST
The Resilience and Future of the U.K and Irish Traveler
Moderator: Amanda Hills, President, MMGY Hills Balfour
Adam Armstrong, Global CEO, Contiki
Claire Bentley, Managing Director, British Airways Holidays
Lisa McAuley, Managing Director, dnata B2B


12:10 PM EDT / 5:10 PM BST
Break


12:15 PM EDT / 5:15 PM BST
An Update from the National Travel & Tourism Office
Julie Heizer, Deputy Director, National Travel and Tourism Office, U.S. Department of Commerce


12:25 PM EDT / 5:25 PM BST
The Future of Transatlantic Aviation
Moderator: Nigel Mayes, Senior Vice President, ASM (Airport Strategy & Marketing)
Bob Schumacher, Director Sales, United Kingdom, Ireland, Israel, South Africa, and Off-Line Markets, United Airlines
Bill Byrne, Director of Global Sales, Aer Lingus
Rikke Christensen, Vice President of Networks Alliances and Commercial Planning, Virgin Atlantic


12:55 PM EDT / 5:55 PM BST
Break


1:00 PM EDT / 6:00 PM BST
Promoting the U.S. to U.K. & Irish Travelers
Moderator: Claire Irvin, Head of Travel, The Telegraph
Dee Burdock, Product Manager, American Holidays
Carolyn Stead, Continental Destination Manager – North America, Trailfinders
Phil Newcombe, Managing Director, Bon Voyage


1:25 PM EDT / 6:25 PM BST
The Future of Streaming TV: A Conversation with Samsung TV Plus

Tom Garzilli, Chief Marketing Officer, Brand USA
Ollie Davies, European Product Lead for Samsung TV Plus, Samsung Electronics
Mark Lapidus, Senior Director, Product & Technology, Brand USA


1:40 PM EDT / 6:40 PM BST
Networking and Q & A with Today’s Speakers


2:10 PM
 EDT / 7:10 PM BST
Brand USA Market Opportunities
Amanda Davis, Manager, Global Markets, Brand USA
Cassady Bailey, Senior Director, Partner Engagement & Planning, Brand USA


2:25 PM
 EDT / 7:25 PM BST
End of Program

Wednesday, April 21 - USA Training Day

null

2:00 PM BST / 9:00 AM EDT
Brand USA Welcome
Tom Garzilli, Chief Marketing Officer, Brand USA


2:05 PM BST / 9:05 AM EDT
Brand USA Resources
Amanda Davis, Manager, Global Markets, Brand USA


2:20 PM BST / 9:20 AM EDT
Exploring City Experiences Across the USA
Moderator: Fred Dixon, President & CEO, NYC & Company
Bill Talbert, President & CEO, Greater Miami Convention & Visitors Bureau
Tom Norwalk, President & CEO, Visit Seattle
Julie Coker, President & CEO, San Diego Tourism Authority


2:45 PM BST / 9:45 AM EDT
Break


2:50 PM BST / 9:50 AM EDT
Exploring the Great Outdoors in the USA
Moderator: Caroline Beteta, President & CEO, Visit California
Todd Davidson, Chief Executive Officer, Travel Oregon
Brad Smyth, Director, Travel Texas
Keiko Matsudo Orrall, Executive Director, Massachusetts Office of Travel & Tourism


3:15 PM BST / 10:15 AM EDT
Networking with U.S. Partners
Jackie Ennis, Vice President, Global Markets, Brand USA
Suzy Shepard, Senior Manager, Global Markets, Brand USA
Ava Mehta, Trade Director, Brand USA U.K. & Ireland
Georgie Nicholl, Trade Manager, Brand USA U.K. & Ireland


4:35 PM BST / 11:35 AM EDT
Mega USA Quiz
Ava Mehta, Trade Director, Brand USA U.K. & Ireland


4:50 PM BST (11:50 AM EDT)

End of Program

Helpful Tips for an optimal experience on Brand USA Global Marketplace

Focus On U.K. & Ireland will take place from Tuesday, April 20 to Wednesday, April 21, 2021. This two-day virtual event on Brand USA Global Marketplace will provide U.S. partners with relevant insights on the travel landscape as well as share updates on the U.S. tourism industry with the U.K. & Irish travel trade community.

null
Brand USA invites U.S. partners who exhibit on the Brand USA Global Marketplace, and members of the U.K. and Irish travel trade community to attend Focus On U.K. & Ireland. During the first day of the event (April 20) U.K. and Irish travel experts will share updates on the U.K. and Irish travel landscape and economy as well as consumer trends to help U.S. partners make informed decisions as they plan for recovery. The following day (April 21), U.K. and Irish tour operators and travel agents are invited to USA Training Day, an interactive training session. USA Training Day will focus on how to tap into valuable resources on the custom-built Brand USA Global Marketplace platform. In addition, there will be the opportunity to connect directly with many of the U.S. destination and attraction partners on what is new and exciting in the U.S. as we look to recovery of international inbound travel from the U.K. and Ireland to the USA.

 

Registration* for both days must be completed by April 16 at 12:00 AM EDT.
*Existing users do not need to re-register for the platform. Existing users who register for this event will opt-in for all communications related to Focus On U.K. & Ireland.

Tuesday, April 20

null

11:00 AM EDT / 4:00 PM BST
Brand USA welcome
Chris Thompson, President & CEO, Brand USA


11:05 AM EDT / 4:05 PM BST
U.K. & Ireland Economic Outlook
David Goodger, Managing Director, Europe & Middle East at Tourism Economics


11:15 AM EDT / 4:15 PM BST
How are the Media Preparing for the Return of U.S. Travel?
Moderator: Dominic Carter, Group Chief Commercial Officer, News UK
Maria Pieri, Editorial Director, National Geographic
Nicola Brady, Freelance Journalist, Irish Independent
Katie McGonagle, Features & Supplements Editor, Travel Weekly


11:40 AM EDT / 4:40 PM BST
The Resilience and Future of the U.K and Irish Traveler
Moderator: Amanda Hills, President, MMGY Hills Balfour
Adam Armstrong, Global CEO, Contiki
Claire Bentley, Managing Director, British Airways Holidays
Lisa McAuley, Managing Director, dnata B2B


12:10 PM EDT / 5:10 PM BST
Break


12:15 PM EDT / 5:15 PM BST
An Update from the National Travel & Tourism Office
Julie Heizer, Deputy Director, National Travel and Tourism Office, U.S. Department of Commerce


12:25 PM EDT / 5:25 PM BST
The Future of Transatlantic Aviation
Moderator: Nigel Mayes, Senior Vice President, ASM (Airport Strategy & Marketing)
Bob Schumacher, Director Sales, United Kingdom, Ireland, Israel, South Africa, and Off-Line Markets, United Airlines
Bill Byrne, Director of Global Sales, Aer Lingus
Rikke Christensen, Vice President of Networks Alliances and Commercial Planning, Virgin Atlantic


12:55 PM EDT / 5:55 PM BST
Break


1:00 PM EDT / 6:00 PM BST
Promoting the U.S. to U.K. & Irish Travelers
Moderator: Claire Irvin, Head of Travel, The Telegraph
Dee Burdock, Product Manager, American Holidays
Carolyn Stead, Continental Destination Manager – North America, Trailfinders
Phil Newcombe, Managing Director, Bon Voyage


1:25 PM EDT / 6:25 PM BST
The Future of Streaming TV: A Conversation with Samsung TV Plus

Tom Garzilli, Chief Marketing Officer, Brand USA
Ollie Davies, European Product Lead for Samsung TV Plus, Samsung Electronics
Mark Lapidus, Senior Director, Product & Technology, Brand USA


1:40 PM EDT / 6:40 PM BST
Networking and Q & A with Today’s Speakers


2:10 PM
 EDT / 7:10 PM BST
Brand USA Market Opportunities
Amanda Davis, Manager, Global Markets, Brand USA
Cassady Bailey, Senior Director, Partner Engagement & Planning, Brand USA


2:25 PM
 EDT / 7:25 PM BST
End of Program

Wednesday, April 21

null

2:00 PM BST / 9:00 AM EDT
Brand USA Welcome
Tom Garzilli, Chief Marketing Officer, Brand USA


2:05 PM BST / 9:05 AM EDT
Brand USA Resources
Amanda Davis, Manager, Global Markets, Brand USA


2:20 PM BST / 9:20 AM EDT
Exploring City Experiences Across the USA
Moderator: Fred Dixon, President & CEO, NYC & Company
Bill Talbert, President & CEO, Greater Miami Convention & Visitors Bureau
Tom Norwalk, President & CEO, Visit Seattle
Julie Coker, President & CEO, San Diego Tourism Authority

 

2:45 PM BST / 9:45 AM EDT
Break

2:50 PM BST / 9:50 AM EDT
Exploring the Great Outdoors in the USA
Moderator: Caroline Beteta, President & CEO, Visit California
Todd Davidson, Chief Executive Officer, Travel Oregon
Brad Smyth, Director, Travel Texas
Keiko Matsudo Orrall, Executive Director, Massachusetts Office of Travel & Tourism

3:15 PM BST / 10:15 AM EDT
Networking with U.S. Partners
Jackie Ennis, Vice President, Global Markets, Brand USA
Suzy Shepard, Senior Manager, Global Markets, Brand USA
Ava Mehta, Trade Director, Brand USA U.K. & Ireland
Georgie Nicholl, Trade Manager, Brand USA U.K. & Ireland


4:35 PM BST / 11:35 AM EDT
Mega USA Quiz
Ava Mehta, Trade Director, Brand USA U.K. & Ireland

 

4:50 PM BST (11:50 AM EDT)
End of Program

Helpful Tips for an optimal experience on Brand USA Global Marketplace